String Quartet (1905)

Anton Webern

Edited by James Beale
Anton von Webern
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Violin I, Viola, Cello, Violin II
Item Number: BE2
Number of Pages: 32
Duration: 0:12:15
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Anton von Webern’s inspiration for The String Quartet (1905) came from the triptych, a painting by Giovanni Segantini. There are three distinct segments within the one-movement piece. One of the early Webern works discovered by musicologist Hans Moldenhauer after Webern’s death, String Quartet (1905) had its world premiere on May 26, 1962 during the First International Webern Festival in Seattle, Washington.

String Quartet (1905)

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Editor Beale, James