Langsamer Satz

Anton Webern

Edited by James Beale
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Viola, Violin I, Violin II, Cello
Item Number: O4528
Number of Pages: 32
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The Langsamer Satz (literally “Slow Movement”) dates from 1905 and was said to have been inspired by a hiking holiday in the mountains outside of Vienna Webern took with his future wife. He intended to write an entire quartet but put it aside after completing this one movement. Langsamer Satz is a highly charged work, clearly rooted in post-Brahmsian romanticism and tonality. A medium length quartet movement, the Langsamer Satz expresses a plethora of emotions from yearning to dramatic turmoil to a tranquil peaceful denouement . It shows that Webern, like Schönberg and Berg, was capable of writing very fine music in a tonal idiom if he chose. This work is a little masterpiece, suitable as an encore for professional groups but still within easy reach of competent amateurs.

More Views

  • Langsamer Satz

Scores & Parts

Langsamer Satz - Full Score - Study

Additional Information

Editor Beale, James