Jason Eckardt

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello
Item Number: BE11F
Number of Pages: 78
Duration: 0:16:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

The subject of Eckardt's Subject is another disturbing topic in today's news. For decades, the U.S. and others have experimented with questionable techniques to ensure maximum cooperation by detainees. This includes the use of light in flashes and sound in long, loud periods. These techniques were ultimately judged to be "inhuman and degrading" by the European Court of Human Rights. Eckardt considers their effects using a string quartet and lighting effects of his own design. Commissioned by Chamber Music America for the JACK Quartet, who gave the first performance in October, 2011. See a live performance by JACK Quartet on YouTube.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Chamber Music America for the JACK Quartet
Composition Date 2011