Symphony No. 5

(Concerto for Orchestra)

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Item Number: 446-41243
Number of Pages: 84
Duration: 0:24:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Commissioned by the Juilliard School, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich's Symphony No. 5 (Concerto for Orchestra) in four movements has already garnered dazzling critical acclaim with Steve Smith of the New York Times, who names it "…a mix of neo-Classical craftsmanship, roiling energy and tonal accessibility." A Juilliard alumna, Zwilich was especially pleased to compose for the Juilliard Orchestra and its conductor, James Conlon. Consisting of four contrasting movements, Symphony No. 5, according to the composer, "treats the ensemble like a huge chamber ensemble, in which each player or section can be a brilliant soloist one moment and a sensitive partner the next." Performance materials are available on rental. For advanced ensembles. Duration: 24'

Symphony No. 5

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Symphony No. 5 - Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by The Juilliard School in honor of Bruce Kovner with the generous support of the Trust of Francis Goelet.
Composition Date 2008
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 3(B.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. 4Perc. Str.


I. Prologue
II. Celebration
III. Memorial
IV. Epilogue