Symphony No. 5

For Symphonic Wind Ensemble

David Maslanka

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Wind Ensemble
Instrumentation: Piccolo, Flute I, Flute II, Flute III, Clarinet (in Eb), Clarinet I, Clarinet II, Clarinet III, Bass Clarinet I, Bass Clarinet II, ContraBass Clarinet, Bassoon I, Bassoon II, Alto Saxophone I, Alto Saxophone II, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Horn I
Item Number: SC55
Number of Pages: 216
Duration: 0:40:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

This four movement piece was composed around three recognized chorale melodies: Durch Adams Fall (“Through Adam’s Fall”) in the first movement; O Lamn Gottes, unschuldig (“O Lamb of God, without Blame”) in the second movement; and Christ lag in Tdesbanden (“Christ Lay in the Bonds of Death”) in the third and fourth movements. Although Maslanka’s works usually portray feelings of loss and grief, Symphony No. 5 is filled with a bright and hopeful energy. The music continually speaks to the theme of transformation – the transformation of tears into power, and the victory of life over death.

Symphony No. 5

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Symphony No. 5 - Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2000
Duration 40:00


Movement I
Movement II
Movement III
Movement IV