They Will Take My Island

for 10 Players

Robert Martin

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

They Will Take My Island is a single movement piece for 10 players. The
instrumentation is comprised of two quintets: one made up of wind
instruments (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon) and the other
consisting of string instruments (2 violins, viola, cello, and double bass). In the late autumn of 2008, Max Lifchitz, conductor, composer, and pianist, asked me to compose a piece in honor of the 30th anniversary of the group and concert series he founded, the North/South Consonance. I regard Max Lifchitz as one of the most important and accomplished musicians of our day, and I was delighted to accept.

The title is from a painting by Arshile Gorky (Vosdanig Manoog Adoian). As Paul Griffiths, Music Critic of the New York Times, observed, ?Martin?s
interest was apparently not so much in the subject matter of that particular picture as in the general notion of what gives an abstract image wholeness and presence.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2009
Duration 00:12:00
Orchestration Fl. Ob. Cl. Hn. Bsn. 2Vln, Vla. Vcl. Cb.
Premiere February 7, 2010, in Manhattan, New York. North/South Consonance Orchestra Max Lifchitz, conductor