Three Madrigals Of 1597

For Brass Quintet

Carlo Gesualdo

Arranged by Travis Freshner
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Brass Quintet
Instrumentation: 2 Trumpets in Bb, Horn in F, Trombone, Bass Trombone
Item Number: 114-41692
Number of Pages: 56
Duration: :07:45
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Carlo Gesualdo, the ill-fated if brilliant composer of the 16th-17th centuries was all but lost to music history until his rediscovery in the 20th century. His writings, described as intensely expressive, were centuries ahead of their time, and were perhaps informed by the tragic events of his life. Of particular appeal are the many madrigals written between 1594 and 1613, and Freshner has chosen several examples in his arrangements for brass quintet. From the book of 1597, he adapts I. Luci serene e chiare, II. Ecco moriro dunque; Hai, gia mi discoloro, and III. Io tacero; Invav dunque, o crudele. The complex harmonies and spirituality are unlike anything else written 400 years ago. For advanced performers.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Additional Information

Arranger Freshner, Travis
Duration 7:45


I. Luci serene e chiare
II. Ecco moriro dunque; Hai, gia mi discoloro
III. Io tacero; Invav dunque, o crudele