For Violin, Cello, and Piano

Martin Bresnick

Carl Fischer Chamber Music Edition
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Piano Trio
Instrumentation: Violin, Cello, Piano
Item Number: MXE9
Number of Pages: 31
Duration: 22:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Trio: I. Semplice, Inesorabile

Quick Overview

This exciting work for violin, cello and piano was commissioned by and dedicated to the Monticello Trio. Diverse and rhythmically challenging, Trio piece in four movements leads the listener through several moods that include the sparseness of Simply Inexorably in the first movement, the lightness and syncopation in the second movement titled Cat’s Cradle and the tender feelings expressed in movement three called Spoken, Tenderly. All of the aspects of the first three movements are transformed in the fourth movement titled Ardently, Lost where the rests in the music play as much of a part as the notes played in the movement’s texture. In this final movement, there is no resolution as the piece moves towards an ambiguous conclusion. A fascinating work sure to be a hit on a chamber music recital!

More Views

  • Trio
  • Trio

Scores & Parts

Trio - Full Score - Study

Additional Information

Composition Date 1988


I. Semplice, Inesorabile
II. Leggiermente, con Accenti Diversi
III. Parlando, Affetuoso
IV. Ardente, Sperduto