Violin Concerto

Lee Hyla

Carl Fischer Chamber Music Edition
Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Violin with Orchestra
Instrumentation: Flute I, Flute II, Trumpet I, Oboe I, Oboe II, Clarinet I, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon I, Clarinet II, Contra Bassoon, Horn II, Horn I, Violin II, Bassoon II, Piano, Piccolo, Percussion I, Percussion II, Harp, Cello, Violin I, Viola, Trumpet II, ContraBass, Vi
Item Number: SC54
Number of Pages: 96
Duration: 21:00
Publisher: Pembroke Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Lee Hyla’s Violin Concerto was commissioned by the Koussevitsky Foundation for violinist Laura Frautschi and the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, and given its first performance by them under the direction of artistic director and founder Gil Rose on January 19, 2002 in Boston’s Jordan Hall. The concerto plays in one kaleidoscopic movement that last nearly 21 minutes. Sections with Hyla’s trademark bristling energy alternate with calm and lyrical passages of delicate beauty. Coy references to the violin concertos of Igor Stravinsky and Alban Berg, tie the work to the great traditions of the last century, but Hyla’s interest in and knowledge of current popular music styles are also subtly evident. This is an important addition to the growing body of great 21st century violin concertos.

Scores & Parts

Violin Concerto - Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Koussevitzky Foundation.
Composition Date 2001
Orchestration Solo Vln.; 2(dbl. Picc) 2(dbl.E.H.) 2(dbl.B.Cl.) 2(dbl.Cbsn.) - 2 2 1 0; 2Perc. Pno. Hp. Str.