With The Grain

Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra

Paul Lansky

Full Score - Large
Performing Ensemble: Guitar with Orchestra
Instrumentation: Soo Guitar, Orchestra
Item Number: CY3489F
Number of Pages: 106
Duration: 23:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

A Fromm Foundation commission resulted in Lansky's Concerto for Guitar, written for the master guitarist David Starobin. Its four movements each take inspiration from the different woods from which guitars are fashioned, and the varied sounds produced from them. Where Redwood Burl evokes "slow, round, evolving shapes," Walnut Burl implies "busy, with aggressive twists and turns." For advanced performers. Dur.: c.24'

More Views

  • With The Grain

Scores & Parts

With the Grain - Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Fromm Foundation at Harvard for David Starobin
Composition Date 2009
Orchestration Solo Guit.; 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 0 0; Timp. Perc. Str.


I. Redwood Burl
II. Karelian Birch
III. Quilted Beech
IV. Walnut Burl