Flowers of St. Francis

Five Scenes for solo Bass Clarinet

Daniel Dorff

Solo Part
Performing Ensemble: Bass Clarinet Unaccompanied
Item Number: 114-41600
Number of Pages: 12
Duration: 14:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Flowers of St. Francis
Barbara Haney

Quick Overview

Inspired by a commissioned premiere at the International Clarinet Association’s 2013 ClarinetFest in Assisi, and by his penchant for creating musical works depicting nature, composer and bass clarinetist Daniel Dorff has created a suite of five picturesque scenes of St. Francis of Assisi’s commune with nature. Each movement is a dialog between St. Francis (represented by pure chantlike melody) and an element of nature (flowers, birds, an angry wolf, fish, starry skies), offering an opportunity to dramatically showcase the wide range of textures and contrasts available from the bass clarinet. For advanced performers. Dur.: 14'

More Views

  • Flowers of St. Francis
  • Flowers of St. Francis

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Barbara Haney


I. The Flowers, Celebrated by St. Francis
II. St. Francis Preaching to the Birds
III. St. Francis Pacifying the Wolf
IV. St. Francis Preaching to the Fish
V. The Starry Skies, Celebrated by St. Francis

State Lists