The Long and Short of It

Paul Lansky

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
Instrumentation: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Horn in F, Bassoon
Item Number: WE22
Number of Pages: 120+cover
Duration: 25:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Composed by Paul Lanksy, The Long and Short of It for Wind Quintet was inspired by the third movement of Mozart’s Serenade for Winds, K. 361. Lanksy was particularly drawn to Mozart’s accompaniment, which he refers to as, “[T]he ultimate expression of breath in music. Nothing else quite captures the same sense of wind instruments inhaling and exhaling as only winds can.” Five of the movements in Lansky’s composition use Mozart’s rhythm accompanying a solo, and the remaining four movements focus on musical concepts such as rhythm, harmony, and counterpoint. This piece was commissioned by The Library of Congress’ Carolyn Royall Just Fund and The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.

More Views

  • The Long and Short of It

Additional Information


No. 1. Prelude (Flute)
No. 2. Braided Counterpoint
No. 3. Interlude No. I (Bassoon)
No. 4. The Joy of Bb Minor
No. 5. Interlude No. II (Oboe)
No. 6. Long Short
No. 7. Interlude No. III (Horn)
No. 8. LaDiDaDiDaDa DiDaDaDiDa DiDa
No. 9. Postlude (Clarinet)