Chinese Folk Dance Suite

for Soprano Saxophone and Piano

Chen Yi (composer), Wong Tak Chiu (arranger), Chen Yi (editor)


  • Soprano Saxophone in B
  • Piano


Inspired by Chinese tradition, this concerto-like dance suite includes: 1. Lion Dance, 2. YangKo, and 3. Muqam. Each movement draws from melodies and rhythms characteristic of various regions of China many centuries ago. CHINESE FOLK DANCE SUITE is available for soprano saxophone with full orchestra, or as a recital work with piano.
SKU: 114-41929
Duration: 20:00
Tempo: Energetically (q = 108)
Dedication: For The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress, and dedicated to the memory of Serge and Natalie Koussevitzky
Commission Notice: Supported by a major commissioning award from the Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress (original version for solo violin and orchestra)
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 44
UPC: 6-80160-67611-8
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3523-5
I. Lion Dance
II. YangKo
III. Muqam
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.