Anacostia Journal

for String Quartet

Lauren Bernofsky (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
The Anacostia River borders Washington, DC along its Eastern boundary, joining with the Potomac to the South of the district. The river, itself, suffers environmental distress from surrounding industry and wastewater, which has impacted its nature in large and negative ways. Composer Lauren Bernofsky spent a time in residency with the Earth Conservation Corps' Eagle Corps (Class of 2003), a group committed to renewing the Anacostia area, to help restore the river and surroundings to its natural state. Anacostia Journal, a suite of six movements (impressions), is the composer's representation of stories told by members of the group. Its premiere performance took place at a 2003 Earth Day rally on the banks of the Anacostia.
SKU: 144-40574
Ensemble: String Quartet
Duration: 12:00
Tempo: q = 104
Dedication: for the Vesalius String Quartet
Commission Notice: Commissioned through the American Composers Forum as part of the Community Partners program, with funds provided by the Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 56
UPC: 6-80160-61191-1
ISBN: 978-1-4911-0156-8
Duck Talk
Tree's Lament
A Tree Grows
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.