Orchestral Excerpts for Oboe

with Piano Accompaniment

Brahms (composer), Barber (composer), Smetana (composer), Maurice Ravel (arranger), Martha Rearick (arranger), Daniel Dorff (editor), John Ferrillo (author), et al.


  • Oboe
  • Piano


The fifth book in our line of Orchestral Excerpts addresses the audition process for orchestral oboists, by one of the world’s finest! John Ferrillo, Principal Oboist with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, knows the agony, the angst, and the anticipation of the audition arena. His overview of his own experiences and his advice is fascinating reading. Ferrillo also goes into some detail on the use of “long-tone exercises” and “melodic simplification,” techniques you can use in everyday music-making. Also included is his advice on “Baroque and Classical Performance Practice,” invaluable insights from an expert. With this foundation, Ferrillo presents the most-often-requested audition pieces, all of which you should know. Throughout, he gives his thoughts on the preparation, presentation and performance of each excerpt. As with the other books in our Orchestral Excerpts line, the oboe solo parts are faithfully reproduced in the most-often-used editions. But these are the editions from which you would be expected to play. Martha Rearick has transcribed the orchestral background into studio rehearsal accompaniments, retaining the flavor and dynamics of the instruments surrounding the oboe parts. All of it is geared toward maximizing your practice time and building the confidence you need as you approach your orchestral opportunity.
SKU: 414-41189
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Methods and Studies
Accompanied: Unaccompanied Solo
Weight: 1.29375 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-09020-4
ISBN: 978-1-59806-008-9
Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
Brandenburg Concerto No. 2
Cantata No. 12, "Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen"
Cantata No. 56, "Ich Will Den Kreuzstab Gerne Tragen"
Cantata No. 82, "Ich Habe Genug"
Cantata No. 156, "Ich Steh' Mit Einem Fub Im Grabe"
Cantata No. 202 (Wedding Cantata), "Weichet Nur, Betrnbte Schatten"
Easter Oratorio
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
Concerto for Orchestra
Concerto for Orchestra - III. Elegia
Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, "Eroica"
Symphony No. 6 in F Major, "Pastorale"
Symphony No. 9 in D Major
Romeo et Juliette
Symphony in C
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor
Symphony No. 2 in D Major
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn
La Mer
Das Lied Von Der Erde
Symphony No. 3
Symphony No. 3 in A Major, "Scottish"
Pictures at an Exhibition
Symphony No. 1, "Classical"
Le Tombeau de Couperin
Overture to "La Scala di Seta"
Symphony No. 9 in C Major, "The Great"
Symphony No. 1
Symphony No. 5
Overture to "The Bartered Bride"
Don Juan
Don Quixote
Pulcinella Suite
Symphony No. 4 in F Minor
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.