The Orchestral Trumpet

Michael Sachs (editor)


  • Trumpet
Sample Audio: Mahler_ Symphony No. 1 (Mvt. 1b)


Michael Sachs, Principal Trumpet of The Cleveland Orchestra since 1988, presents this comprehensive resource for students and professionals alike, including a large selection of standard excerpts from 90 orchestral works, with accompanying commentary, practice techniques, performance tips, and historical perspective. A complete guide for preparation, auditions, and concertizing, "The Orchestral Trumpet" also offers essays on relevant topics such as Baroque and Romantic Period performance practice, and using different keyed instruments.  The collection is further enhanced by Sachs’ audio demonstrations of many of the excerpted selections, which total 67 excerpts. To explore specific exercises accompanying these excerpts, see Sachs' THE ORCHESTRAL TRUMPET: PRACTICE SEQUENCES.
SKU: 414-41227
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Methods and Studies
Accompanied: Unaccompanied Solo
Page count: 178
UPC: 6-80160-68496-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3447-4
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.