Heifetz Plays Gershwin

Gershwin (composer), Heyward (composer), Heyward (composer), et al.


  • Violin
  • Piano


Jascha Heifetz (1901-1987) and George Gershwin (1898-1937), two of the best known figures in American music, were good friends and often played together. Heifetz had urged Gershwin to write a violin concerto for him, but unfortunately Gershwin died before the project got off the ground. These transcriptions by Heifetz are the next best thing. The five excerpts from Porgy and Bess® and the Three Preludes are well known and Heifetz often played them as encores, but the substantial concert excerpt from An American in Paris™ has never been published before and may not have been performed by Heifetz in public at all. The infectious rhythms and gorgeous tunes of this American classic are brilliantly served by Heifetz as transcriber, and the Porgy excerpts (which include "Bess, You Is My Woman Now," "Summertime" and "My Man's Gone Now") sizzle with virtuoso pizzazz in these wonderful arrangements. This edition is a must-have for lovers of the violin and the music of Gershwin!
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Collection
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-04178-6
ISBN: 978-0-8258-4178-1
An American in Paris
SummerTime and A Woman Is a Sometime Thing
My Man's Gone Now
It Ain't Necessarily So
Bess, You Is My Woman Now
Tempo di Blues
Three Preludes for Piano
Three Preludes for Piano
Three Preludes for Piano
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.