String Quartet No. 4

The Planet on the Table

Martin Bresnick (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
Score and Parts; Folio
Based on Wallace Stevens' poem "The Planet on the Table" this string quartet's world is made of the music and sounds of remembered times or of something heard that the composer, Martin Bresnick, liked. The quartet has five movements, each headed by a quotation from one of Stevens' poems as a point of departure or pathway into those remembered sounds and music. "What matters is that my music, like his (Stevens') poetry, should bear some lineament or character, some affluence, if only half perceived in the poverty of its sounds, of the planet of which it was part."
Ensemble: String Quartet
Duration: 32:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned for the Brentano String Quartet by Elizabeth and Justus Schlichting for the Segerstrom Center for the Arts Chamber Music Series
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 116+Cover
Weight: 0.9 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-91532-3
ISBN: 978-1-4911-5678-0
I. Mrs. Anderson's Swedish Baby
II. She Measured the Hour
III. Scene 10 Becomes 11
IV. Someone Has Walked Across the Snow
V. His Self and the Sun
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.