Three Encores for String Quartet

Daniel Godfrey (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello


Daniel Strong Godfrey’s Three Encores features three thematically and instrumentally diverse pieces transcribed for string quartet. The movements include versions of John Newton’s Amazing Grace, arranged here with a rocking, barcarolle-like character, "Nimrod," the ninth variation from Edward Elgar’s Enigma Variations, Op. 36, and Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen (Lo, How A Rose e’er Blooming), which offers settings of this carol by both Michael Praetorius and Johannes Brahms. These transcriptions, which may be performed together or separately, are a unique addition to the existing repertoire of string quartet arrangements.
SKU: BF158
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Collection, Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-92095-2
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6220-0
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.