Ekphrastic Dances

for Brass Quintet

Isaac Smith (composer)


  • Trumpet 1 in B
  • Trumpet 2 in B
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba
Score and Parts
Ekphrastic – a work of art produced as a rhetorical exercise…a vivid, often dramatic, verbal description of a visual work of art, either real or imagined. Isaac Smith has created four bright descriptive miniatures for brass quintet, vivid and often dramatic. Four movements are: I. Dynamism of a Dancer, II. Dali's Dance, III. Umbrella Blues, IV. Broadway Boogie-Woogie. A challenging and rewarding work for an advanced quintet.
SKU: BQ192
Vendor Catalog Number: BQ-192
Publisher: Balquhidder Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-90609-3
ISBN: 978-1-4911-4859-4
1. Dynamism of a Dancer
2. Dali's Dance
3. Umbrella Blues
4. Broadway Boogie-Woogie
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.