Polovtsian Dances

Alexander Borodin (composer), Sam Gelfer (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass


These timeless melodies from Alexander Borodin have been lifted from the original score, arranged for strings, and transposed into the friendlier key of G Major. This piece poses a challenge suitable for advanced middle school orchestras, or a good exercise in melodic shaping and tone production for an intermediate high school group. Major teaching features include triplets, syncopation, ornaments, 16th note rhythms, and slurs. Polovtsian Dances provides a beautiful concert selection for any time of the year.
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 3
Duration: 2:40
Key: G major
Tempo: Andantino (q = 70)
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 70+Cover
Weight: 0.6 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-91322-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-5467-0
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.