Capriol Dances

Peter Warlock (composer), Caryn Wiegand Neidhold (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass


Warlock's enigmatic "Capriol Suite" has long been a favorite for orchestra concert and contest events. Two of the most famous movements, Basse-Danse and Mattachins (Sword Dance), are adapted here for intermediate orchestra, allowing younger students to experience the high-energy melodies and unique harmonies of these popular dances. These thoughtfully-arranged pieces work well at a variety of tempi, from moderate to presto, according to the ensemble’s ability. An exciting concert opener or closer!
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 3
Duration: 3:00
Key: D minor
Tempo: q = 124
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-92155-3
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6280-4
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.