Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

2nd Movement

Johann Sebastian Bach (composer), Todd Parrish (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass


This energetic second movement from Bach's famed Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 has been skillfully arranged to be more accessible to the developing string ensemble. Remaining in the key of G major, this piece has been re-scored from the original compound meter of 12/8 to simple 3/4 time, allowing both conductor and players to more easily manage the pulse. All instruments get moving parts with vigorous melodies and countermelodies, while the original solos have been integrated into the sections. An excellent introduction to a classic piece of Baroque repertoire.
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 3
Duration: 3:40
Key: G major
Tempo: q = 144
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Series: CF Concert String Orchestra (CAS)
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-92392-2
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6501-0
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.