Sonata - Violin

Louise Talma (composer)


  • Violin
  • Piano
Score and Parts; Book with Insert
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days
Made available from composer's original edition
The Pytheas Center for Contemporary Music notes: "Talma was the first woman to receive two Guggenheims, the first woman elected to the National Institute of Arts and Letters (1974), the first American woman to have a full-scale opera performed in Germany, the first American to teach at Fontainebleau, and the first woman to receive the Sibelius Medal for composition." This is only the highlights of a long life of composing. Talma spent a good amount of time at the MacDowell Colony, where she wrote many of her finest works, including the Violin Sonata. Having studied composition with Nadia Boulanger over 17 summers in her youth, Talma dedicated the Sonata to her former teacher and long-time friend on the occasion of Boulanger's 75th birthday. The single movement reflects Talma's style in 1962, with more than a passing nod to 12-tone construction. For advanced performers. Dur.: 16'
SKU: FE192
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.33125 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-07756-3
ISBN: 978-0-8258-7756-8
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.