Symphonic Overture

Charles Carter (composer)
Piccolo, Flute 1, Flute 2, Oboe 1, Oboe 2, Clarine...


Symphonic Overture is a contemporary-sounding overture of medium difficulty so scored that it can be performed with equal success by large and small groups alike. Employing the familiar three-part form (A-B-A), the opening section has a theme which is robust in character and with considerable rhythmic interest. The second theme, slow and expressive in character is a free form based on an opening idea introduced by the first flute. At the return of the first section, the first theme is treated as a fugue subject building to great heights as all four entrances are achieved. As the “exposition” concludes, the contrapuntal texture gives way to a homophonic quality which closes the piece. The coda, as is characteristic, utilizes material from the first theme.
SKU: J591
Ensemble: Concert Band
Duration: 4:20
Key: B major
Tempo: Allegro (q = 152)
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 1.65 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-02939-5
ISBN: 978-0-8258-2939-0
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.