String Quartet No. 4

Lukas Foss (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
Full Score
Commissioned by the Buffalo Chamber Music Society, String Quartet No. 4 was written by Lukas Foss in 1998. It could be said that the quartet is "in G" since it ends in a clear G Major and the opening chord of B, C# and G has structural implications, but as with much of Foss' recent work the quartet has an expanded view of tonality consonant with late 20th century practice. In five movements, lasting circa 15 minutes, (1. Contrasts, 2. Chaconne, 3. Chaotic Interlude, 4. Fugue, 5. Chorale), String Quartet No. 4 explores the medium with great skill and imagination. Performance materials are available for sale from the concert music library.
Duration: 15:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Score Type: Full Score
Product Type: Score
Weight: 0.75 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-04024-6
ISBN: 978-0-8258-4024-1
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.