String Quartet No. 5

Lukas Foss (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
$48.00 Regular Price $48.00


The Guarnieri String Quartet commissioned this challenging work, written in four movements. Foss presents the first two movements (Andante misterioso, and Andante moderato), and then concludes the work in the last two movements, which are variations on the first movements titled Variation on II (1st section) and Allegro furioso (variation on I). The style in the piece is the composer’s very personalized adaptation of a minimalist approach. A wonderful work by one of one of the world’s most noted American composers.
Ensemble: String Quartet
Duration: 18:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-05669-8
ISBN: 978-0-8258-5669-3
I. Andantino misterioso
II. Allegro moderato
III. Variation on II (1st section)
IV. Allegro furioso (Variation on I)
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.