For Immediate Release
June 13, 2022

2022 String Orchestra Catalog Now Available
27 New Titles in Every Grade Level

New York, NY -
Carl Fischer Music announces their 2022 String Orchestra release. This vibrant collection of music includes original concert works, winter and Halloween specials, and excellent arrangements of Classical repertoire. Carl Fischer also adds a second title to their new Masterworks series featuring advanced works by contemporary composers.

With 27 brand new titles, this catalog features a variety of styles and diverse voices in every grade level. Most of the composers and arrangers in this release are string teachers themselves, bringing invaluable knowledge of string pedagogy and understanding of what is suitable and fun for students to encourage success in the orchestra classroom. All scores from the 2022 catalog can be previewed with live professional recordings by visiting

Highlights include imaginative arrangements of classical composers Ludwig van Beethoven and Joseph Bologne, a charming suite by Ukrainian composer Victor Kosenko, a spooky sound-effect spectacular Haunted Bridges, and fresh holiday arrangements including A Basque Carol for strings with optional chorus.

In addition to favorite composers Yukiko Nishimura, Chris Thomas, Kathryn Griesinger, Aaron Fryklund, Deborah Baker Monday, Liam Ramsey-White, Todd Parrish, Lauren Taylor, Eric B. Davis, Katie O’Hara Labrie, Jeffrey Turner, and Doug Spata, Carl Fischer welcomes several new writers to the catalog, including David O’Fallon, Cooper Ford, Robert Debbaut, Caryn Neidhold, and Kevin Ray. Carl Fischer's Masterworks Series was launched in 2019 for the purpose of making notable works by 20th- and 21st-century composers (previously rental-only) accessible to advanced high school, collegiate, and professional chamber ensembles. Each work is an authentic string orchestra arrangement of an acclaimed work by a significant composer from the modern era. The first was Howard Hanson’s Symphony No. 2 (Mvt. 1) and Carl Fischer now adds William Grant Still’s Symphony No. 2 (Mvt. 2) to this growing collection. A work by influential composer Chen Yi is planned for release in 2023.

The Carl Fischer Orchestra Series offers exciting and pedagogically focused music at every performance level. Grade ½ music is playable by beginning ensembles in their first year with simple rhythms, minimal range, and frequent unison to build confidence in young players. Grade 1 and 1.5 music begins expanding rhythms and bow techniques, adding low-2 finger patterns. Grade 2 and 2.5 music follows the standard progression of middle school pedagogy with additional rhythms, new articulations, and independence among sections. And Grade 3+ music adds shifting techniques, key signatures, and complex rhythms that align with standard instruction in the high school orchestra.

About Carl Fischer Music For 150 years Carl Fischer Music has been a leader in educational music publishing. Since its founding in 1872, Carl Fischer Music has had a deep and abiding commitment to sharing traditional and contemporary music with the world. The Carl Fischer Music catalog is made up of a large and diverse selection of music, musical literature, and pedagogy from premiere composers of the past and present. Our publications cross multiple genres, from Concert Music to Jazz, Classics to Popular and Choral while representing instrumental categories such as concert band, orchestra, piano, vocal, string, fretted instruments, brass, woodwind and percussion. Carl Fischer Music publications are available for purchase at over 2,000 retailers worldwide.

Media Contact:
Kate Parrish
Orchestra Editor | Educational Marketing Associate
48 Wall Street 28th Floor
New York, New York 10005
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.