Tectonic Shift

Sam Gelfer (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass


Tectonic Shift refers to Pangea – the supercontinent that geologists believe shifted over time due to plate tectonics, leaving us with the land masses of today. This spirited work for string orchestra depicts this epic earth-shattering event with a dynamic explosion of sound and rhythm. Set in 7/8 time, the contemporary motif will challenge each section rhythmically and melodically. As suggested by the title, all sections have the opportunity to practice shifting as well. Riffing on the “tonic” of D minor, the bass section is featured with a soli section that drives the momentum of this energizing piece. Electrifying!
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 4
Duration: 3:14
Key: D minor
Tempo: e = 290
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-92164-5
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6289-7
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.