Apocalyptic (Finale from Symphony No. 8)

Anton Bruckner (composer), Kirk Moss (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass
  • Timpani


Bruckner began composing the Eighth Symphony, his last completed symphony, in July 1884. When he finished the work's revelatory finale, he signed it "Hallelujah,” and reported enthusiastically, “The Finale is the most significant movement of my life." Following the premiere performance, a peer composer penned, “Its success was almost without precedent. It was the absolute victory of light over darkness.” This work leaps to life with awe-inspiring power in this first-ever setting for string orchestra with optional timpani. Transposed from its original key of  C minor/major to D minor/major, the music sits nicely for all parts, ready for any concert or festival.  
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 4
Duration: 4:56
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-91786-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-5928-6
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.