Symphony No. 2


Emilie Mayer (composer), Lauren Taylor (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass
  • Timpani


A rare transcription of the extraordinary music of German composer Emilie Mayer (1812-1883). While most of her compositions remained unpublished at the time of her death, Mayer's works were acclaimed in Germany and she toured frequently performing her music, an unheard of practice for a single woman at the time. This stormy final movement from her second symphony reveals Mayer's bold and confident style. Arranged for string orchestra and timpani, this movement was painstakingly drawn from the handwritten score, offering a profound opportunity for students to experience the music of this incredible composer for the first time.
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 4.5
Duration: 5:12
Key: D minor
Tempo: q = 100
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-92163-8
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6288-0
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.