Robert Thurston (composer)
Flute 1, Flute 2, Oboe, Clarinet 1 in B, Clarinet...


A dynamic concert overture that derives most of its force and material from the striking fanfare motive announced in the opening measure by horns and trumpets (concert Eb, Bb, Ab, Db). The bold opening in compound time is followed by a suave and flowing Adagio in 4/4 meter that makes a lovely tune out of a variant of the opening motive. At measure 103, with a marimba solo, the Allegro style and compound meter return for a rousing and invigorating climax. This piece is a significant addition to the band repertoire for concert and contest. Duration: 6’30” Keys: Eb, Ab Ranges: Trumpet – A; Horn – F; Trombone – G)
Ensemble: Concert Band
Grade: 4.5
Key: E major
Tempo: Allegro Marziale (q. = 120)
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 2.55 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-04822-8
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.