'Then the Rocks on the Mountain Began to Shout'

for 2 Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Baritone, and Bass Voices a cappella

Lukas Foss (composer)
Soprano 1, Soprano 2, Mezzo-Soprano, Alto, Tenor, ...


“…then the rocks on the mountain began to shout.” —Charles Ives (Lukas Foss, V2510) As a composer, Lukas Foss (1922–2009) was fluent with a variety of different mediums, including works for orchestra, chamber ensembles, solo instruments and voices. He eagerly explored a wide variety of twentieth-century styles, including improvisation, electronic music, neoclassicism, twelve-tone techniques and minimalism. The latter style is especially evident in his work “…then the rocks on the mountain began to shout.” composed in 1977 for seven a cappella singers (2 sopranos, mezzo-soprano, alto, tenor, baritone and bass). The title of the work is derived from Charles Ives’ From the Steeples and the Mountains for brass and percussion, a work that Foss conducted in several instances. The piece features no text, but rather is composed with an ever-changing pattern of vowels, as well as solfege syllables, to contribute to subtle changes in vocal timbre. In a program note for the work, Foss noted: “In this composition, the chorus does not sing words, it vocalizes, with the many repeated notes set to vowels. A five-note chord dominates the work. It is endlessly repeated, varied, permutated, transposed and inverted. It invades the entire piece via persistent, pulsating, echoing and criss-crossing quarter notes. Only an explosion near the end liberates us from its domination.” This work is one of a series of new publications of Lukas Foss to be released by Carl Fischer Music, as a means of celebrating his works and achievements. These publications will be important means for promoting performances of his music as well as securing his legacy as a composer.
SKU: V2510
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Score Type: Performance Score
Product Type: Score
UPC: 6-80160-92454-7
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6554-6
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.