Late Afternoon

Ricky Ian Gordon (composer), Jane Kenyon (lyricist), Jean Valentine (lyricist)


  • Soprano
  • Piano


This is a heartfelt cycle of songs by Ricky Ian Gordon set the poetry of three important American poets, Jane Kenyon, Jean Valentine and Marie Howe. After a major personal loss, Gordon turned to the poetry of these women who speak of loss and death in a way that he found particularly consoling. The songs are beautifully written for a medium voice with Gordon’s usual care. A dissonant and colorful keyboard part is a great enhancement to the generally reflective tone of the music. Gordon’s moving setting of the late Jane Kenyon’s heartbreaking Let Everyone Come is destined to be a recital classic. Late Afternoon was commissioned by Tisch Center of the Arts at the 92nd Street Y and was made possible with funds provided by the Mary Flagler Charitable Trust.
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.4 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-05938-5
ISBN: 978-0-8258-5938-0
1. Otherwise
2. Willi, Home
3. X
4. Just Now
5. What the Living Do
6. Let Evening Come
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.