Concerto for Tuba and Orchestra

Samuel Jones (composer)


  • Tuba
  • Piano


Jones’ three movement, 24 minute piece was commissioned for and first performed by Tubist Christopher Olka and the Seattle Symphony Orchestra with conductor Gerard Schwarz on January 5, 2006. The Seattle Times raved that, “Jones’ flair for orchestration creates splendid colors and effects that never overwhelm the solo instrument’s velvety, soft-focus sound.” Score and parts are available on rental!
SKU: W2636
Duration: 24:00
Tempo: Andante con moto (q = 72)
Dedication: in memory of James P. Crowder world preeminent aeronautical engineer, enthusiastic amateur tubist and aficionado of brass instruments and dedicated lover of music especially Wagner's "Ring"
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Seattle Symphony, Gerard Schwarz, Music Director, for Christopher Olka through the generosity of Sandra Crowder
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.55 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-06213-2
ISBN: 978-0-8258-6213-7
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.