Nine Varitions on a Minuet by Jean-Pierre Dupont, K. 573

for Flute and Harp (or Piano)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (composer), Robert Stallman (editor)


  • Flute
  • Piano


The Variations on Jean-Pierre Duport’s Minuet, K. 573 (originally for solo piano) are a product of Mozart’s final years, created in preparation for a visit to the royal court in Potsdam during the spring of 1789. Exuding the childlike wonder and capacity for joy that Mozart sustained throughout his life, these sunny and playful variations could almost pass for music from his youth. Only one variation reveals that they were written in one of his darkest periods: the Adagio in D Minor. Of an unearthly sadness, the Adagio presages Pamina’s famous aria “Ach, ich fuhls” from The Magic Flute, composed two years later. — Robert Stallman, Marblehead, Mass. (March 1, 2019)  Shortly after completing this edition, Robert Stallman passed away, leaving behind a lifetime legacy of music mentorship, performance, and scholarship. This collection is just a small part of that legacy.
SKU: W2690
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.3 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-91462-3
ISBN: 978-1-4911-5607-0
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.