Quintet for Winds No. 2

for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn and Bassoon

David Maslanka (composer)


  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in B
  • Horn in F
  • Bassoon


Written in 1986 for the Manhattan Wind Quintet, this dynamic piece in three movements encompasses several moods that range from aggressiveness to placidity and etherealness. A technically demanding piece, the first movement is filled with exciting short phrases that come together in a fugual section. The second movement is both peaceful and emotional, with a profound sense of mystery. Finally, the third movement, a chaconne, features a continuous set of variations over a brief repeated harmonic pattern. The movement ends with a chorale-like coda that summarizes the entire piece.
Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
Duration: 20:00
Key: C major
Tempo: Deliberate (q = 92)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Manhattan Wind Quintet, Katharine Rawdon, Flute, Lisa Kozenko, Oboe, Cris Inguanti, Clarinet, Benjamin Coelho, Bassoon and Ellen Tomasiewicz, Horn. Premiered on January 31, 1987 at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, New York City.
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 1.05 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-05693-3
ISBN: 978-0-8258-5693-8
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.