Brass Quintet

"...then the rocks on the mountain began to shout." Charles Ives

Lukas Foss (composer)


  • Trumpet 1 in B
  • Trumpet 2 in B
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba (or Trombone 2)


Lukas Foss' Brass Quintet is a transcription of his choral piece for five-part voices "then the rocks on the mountains began to shout." In Foss' characteristic erudite yet approachable style, it features an interplay between measured time and non-measured time, polymetric combinations, and, unique to the brass quintet version, a playful exploration of various types of timbral combinations, such as mutes, open and stopped horn and quarter-tone inflections.
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-91715-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-5795-4
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.