In Winter

Antonio Vivaldi (composer), Todd Parrish (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Violin 3 (Viola T.C.)
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass


This creative arrangement develops the iconic rhythmic motif from first movement of Vivaldi's Winter from his set of concerti, "The Four Seasons." Arpeggiated patterns in the lower strings realize the implied harmonies from the original score, spreading this energetic rhythm throughout all the sections of the orchestra. Students will have the opportunity to refine staccato bow technique and play with balance between parts in the key of G minor, with just a few easy accidentals. This imaginative take on a classic winter theme is suitable for winter concerts, or any other time of year.
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 2.5
Duration: 3:30
Key: G minor
Tempo: q = 124
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Series: CF Young String Orchestra (YAS)
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
UPC: 6-80160-92391-5
ISBN: 978-1-4911-6500-3
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.