A Certain Slant of Light

for Brass Quintet, Percussion, and Organ

Douglas Hedwig (composer)
Trumpet 1 in C (Flugelhorn), Trumpet 2 in C, Tromb...
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
The inspirational foundation is the Emily Dickinson poem of the same name. Through five movements, each named after a phrase from the poem, Hedwig builds his dialogue slowly in intensity. "The music moves, generally, from darkness to light, with occasional moments of reflection and conflict along the way as the drama unfolds...The musical language combines elements of traditional musical melody and tonality, with atonality, minimalism, and even hints of jazz...traces of traditional religious liturgical musical forms and idioms, as well." For advanced performers.
Key: D major
Tempo: Slow, chant-like, misterioso (q = 50), Reflective and Expressive (q = 60)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Chattanooga, TN Dr. Keith S. Reas, Organist and Director of Music
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 104
UPC: 6-80160-90226-2
ISBN: 978-1-4911-4476-3
I. Heavenly Hurt
II. Internal Difference
III. Landscape Listens
IV. Shadows Hold Their Breath
V. Illumination
Copyright © 2024 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.